Do you need to flex your abs for them to show?

Before starting my polyphasic sleep transition, I’m trying to reach a baseline health level to be able to compare it to. There are 3 basic things that does a body good: exercise, sustenance, and rest. Common knowledge tells us that we need to exercise for at least 30 minutes 3 days a week, eat 3 meals a day, and rest for 8 hours a night. I’ll be doing these suggested values until it becomes routine, then I ‘ll transition to working out everyday, eating 6 meals a day, and polyphasic sleep.

I just started working out again yesterday mostly doing my abs. When I haven’t exercised in awhile and start all of a sudden, my body feels more tired than usual. I’ve been trying to regulate my monophasic sleep to be from 9pm-5am consistently, but yesterday I knocked out at 7pm and woke up with really sore abs.

When I see photos of people showing off their six pack, I always wondered if they were flexing or if it’s just like that. I’ll soon find out for myself. To keep track of my progress I’ll be taking a photo of my mid section before each shower and posting it here.

Things that hinder people during the polyphasic sleep transition are getting sick and feeling tired. Regular exercise before the transition should help avoid those.

Adventures in Polyphasic Sleeping

This entry was posted in jorel314 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do you need to flex your abs for them to show?

  1. Kris Jim says:

    If your abdominal muscles are strong and there is minimal fat, there is no need to flex to make the abs visible. When I’m relaxed, you can still see my abs but flexing it makes it slightly more defined. For an ab workout, focus more on ab strength instead of cardio. Don’t bother with crunches, do Janda situps instead.

  2. jorel314 says:

    @Kris

    Thanks for the tip! I’m still not part of the visible abs whilst not flexing club. I never heard of the Janda situp, but I will definitely check out how to do them..

  3. Anonymous says:

    For most people, yes. I have been around athletes my entire life ( college level ), and only one of my friends have had abs that were always in “a six pack”. Actually, one of the guys I know is the model for http://truecarido.com
    He is the huge guy in the logo. Btw, the site is good for getting some info

Leave a Reply

