My article got deleted from Wikipedia. Now what?


photo by bastique

On December 4, 2008 I created an article on Wikipedia called “List of notable people who dedicated works to the public domain“. Unfortunately for me, it was deleted yesterday. I tried to speak my piece on why it should be kept but to no avail. You can view the debate here. Apparently, people did not think it was worthy enough to be on Wikipedia.

However, that does not mean the article is unimportant. So instead, I created a new wiki called Set Free just for my article. Now, it won’t get deleted unless the company hosting the wiki goes out of business. Also, I created links to the new list on relevant sites such as Wikipedia articles about the people listed, the public domain Wikipeda article, and as a blog comment on the blogs of the people listed.

If you know anyone who has a Wikipedia article and also dedicates works to the public domain, I’d love to hear about it, so they can be added to the list of notable people who dedicated works to the public domain.

This entry was posted in jorel314 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My article got deleted from Wikipedia. Now what?

  1. eksith says:

    It’s a shame your article got deleted. Wikipedia is very picky about what it consideres “notable”.

    May I make a suggestion?
    Instead of “Notable” people, how about just links to authors and software instead?
    Even if the author isn’t notable, I’m sure someone will find the software itself notable…

    I replied to your comment on my GPL vs BSD post, but I’ll post the link here as well so others can find it when they read your post.

    There’s a public domain database program published right here on WordPress. I don’t know if the author is notable enough, but it’s worth a look at.

    Eric Bergman-Terrell has placed a bunch of source code for software developers in the public domain. Again, the author may not really be notable, but it’s something worthwhile.

    The SQLite project which is also released into the public domain. It’s a very popular piece of software used by countless companies and private individuals.

    Then there’s a list of software for molecular modeling.

    The U.S. Geological Society has also used PD software for SDTS purposes.

    And IBM has a bunch of software that it has relinquished copyrights to (that puts them in the Public Domain). Though the IBM software is now obsolete, someone may still find it useful.

    Hope this list helps.

  2. That’s too bad about the wikipedia article. I’m glad you did set up your own wiki. I’ll keep you in mind if I find anyone notable…

  3. jorel314 says:

    @eksith

    Thanks for the suggestion. I thought about the “notable” constraint, and decided it’s necessary to make maintaining the list a lot easier.

    I checked out the links and Richard Hipp, SQLite creator, definitely belongs on the list.

  4. I notice you’re using a Wikimedia image to illustrate your complaint, though.

  5. Leon says:

    Everytime there’s content that I find on Wikipedia that is going to be AfD’d, but looks like it should be worthy, I find myself taking that content to one of the oldest Wikipedia forks out there, http://www.wikinfo.org. Their inclusion policy is that almost anything is accepted, as long as it is positive.

  6. jorel314 says:

    @KillerChihuahua

    I love Wikipedia, and I’ll still be contributing to the project. You can view some of my contributions here:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User:Jorel314

    You win some and you lose some. I just wanted to show what option I chose to keep that particular article alive on the web. The wiki I started was just for that article. No other articles will be added there.

    That image is awesome BTW.

    @Leon

    Thanks for mentioning an alternate option.

  7. eksith says:

    Add to that list Carl Malamud.
    He’s a major PD advocate as well as president of Public.Resource.org.

  8. jorel314 says:

    @eksith

    Thanks!

    Carl does look like a contender. However, I see the stuff that public.resource.org scans are part of the public domain, but I’m not sure if the project itself is dedicated to the public domain.

    I’ll email Carl and the public.resource.org people to find out.

  9. eksith says:

    Just checking up…

    Did you get a reply from Carl or the foundation?

  10. jorel314 says:

    Hey eksith,

    Thanks for following up. I actually did get a chance to contact Carl. You can see my correspondence here.

    https://jorel314.wordpress.com/2008/12/29/public-domain-spotlight-publicresourceorg/

Leave a Reply

