Entropy, you’re gonna be my bitch.


cc photo by Troy Mason

I’ve been retired for several months now. Without having to follow any type of schedule, I just do whatever I feel like whenever I want. Whilst I enjoy the break, I haven’t accomplished much.

Sometimes, I spend all day reading news stories in my feed reader. Other times, I watch a whole season of a TV show nonstop. Some days, I play video games until the sun comes up.

My sleeping habits have become random. I often go long stretches without eating. Exercise has become nonexistent. In essence, entropy has taken over. When that happens, it doesn’t do much for my self-esteem.

So today, I am declaring a war on entropy. I recently read a great little book called Zen to Done: The Ultimate Simple Productivity System by Leo Babauta. The book has been dedicated to the public domain and you can get it here.

The book lists 10 habits that will help you get things done and suggests you start with just doing one of those habits first. I have chosen the “Routine” habit. Here is my proposed routine.

07:00 – wake > exercise outdoor > breakfast > shower
09:00 – work starts
01:00 – lunch
05:00 – work ends
06:00 – dinner > family
09:00 – exercise indoor > shower > personal
11:00 – sleep

As you can see, it looks like a typical 9 to 5 slave schedule. However, there’s a huge difference. This is a self-imposed 9 to 5 routine. It is by choice. During the “work” time, I’ll be producing instead of consuming. The work I will be producing will be for my own personal projects that I do for fun.

I created a calendar to track my progress here. I made the calendar my homepage on my browser, so I can visually see how I’m doing. The days I follow the schedule I will mark with “success” and the others with “failure”. This is the “Don’t Break the Chain” motivation technique.

Today is my first day, and it is going quite well. I woke up promptly at 7am, washed up, and took a stroll to buy some milk and cereal for breakfast. Then I showered and started working at 9am writing this blog post. After this 30 day challenge, this 9 to 5 routine should become habit.

When that happens, I am hoping to get the feeling of self control back. Then, I can morph that 9 to 5 schedule into the Batman Schedule.

This entry was posted in jorel314. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Entropy, you’re gonna be my bitch.

  1. Mike Null says:

    Nice! I love Zen Habits.

    Good luck man.. I used the “Don’t Break The Chain” method to quit smoking.

    I’m in kind of a similar situation working as a full time musician. Most of my day is self imposed, which means some days I don’t do much at all because I don’t feel like it.

    That Batman sleep schedule looks interesting.. :)

    Cheers,
    Mike

Leave a Reply

